Vice President Harris swears in Ossoff, Warnock and Padilla, Democrats take control of Senate

Democrats have the majority in the Senate with Vice President Harris as the tie-breaking vote

Updated: January 20, 2021 - 5:05pm

Democrats Jon Ossoff, Raphael Warnock and Alex Padilla were officially sworn-in Wednesday as U.S. senators by Vice President Kamala Harris.

Ossoff and Warnock won the Georgia runoff election earlier this month. Padilla, former California secretary of state, filled the seat Harris vacated when she became vice president. 

Democrats now have the majority in the Senate with Harris as the tie-breaking vote.

Just the News Spotlight