House votes to refer Mayorkas impeachment to committee

Eight Republicans voted with Democrats to move the effort to the Homeland Security Committee.

Published: November 13, 2023 8:01pm

Updated: November 13, 2023 8:02pm

The House of Representatives on Monday voted to refer a resolution to impeach Department of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas to a committee after Georgia GOP Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene brought the measure last week.

Eight Republicans voted with Democrats to move the effort to the Homeland Security Committee, Politico reported. Mayorkas's tenure has witnessed a marked uptick in illegal border crossings and Greene's resolution had accused him of neglecting his duties.

"In his willful admittance of border crossers, terrorists, human traffickers, drugs, and other contraband, Alejandro Nicholas Mayorkas has failed to maintain operational control of the border, thereby violating the Secure Fence Act of 2006," she wrote. "As Secretary of the Department of Homeland Secretary, Alejandro Mayorkas, has violated his oath to uphold this constitutional duty by allowing the invasion of approximately 10,000,000 illegals across our borders."

"The ongoing invasion at our southern border is a direct national security threat against the States and against the citizens therein," the resolution continued. "Secretary Mayorkas has willfully abandoned his duty to secure the border and protect States against invasion, thereby violating article IV, section 4 of the Constitution."

Ben Whedon is an editor and reporter for Just the News. Follow him on X, formerly Twitter.

The Facts Inside Our Reporter's Notebook

Unlock unlimited access

  • No Ads Within Stories
  • No Autoplay Videos
  • VIP access to exclusive Just the News newsmaker events hosted by John Solomon and his team.
  • Support the investigative reporting and honest news presentation you've come to enjoy from Just the News.
  • Just the News Spotlight

    Support Just the News