Democrat Tim Ryan declared winner in Ohio party primary for Senate

Associated Press also reports Ohio Republican Gov. Mike DeWine has secured his party’s nomination for a second term

Updated: May 4, 2022 - 5:29am

The Associated Press on Tuesday night declared congressman Tim Ryan the winner of Ohio's Democrat Senate primary, with the winner of the GOP primary at about 8:50 p.m. local time still too close to call.

The wire service also reports Ohio Republican Gov. Mike DeWine has secured his party's nomination for a second term.

In the Senate race, Democrats and Republicans are competing for the seat of retiring GOP Sen. Rob Portman.

In the GOP primary, Trump-backed memoirist and venture capitalist J.D. Vance has a narrow leader over former state Treasurer Josh Mandel and former state Rep. Matt Dolan. 

Vance leads with 29.6% of the vote, followed by 23.8% for Mandel and 22% for Dolan, according to The New York Times.  

DeWine held off bids by former congressman Jim Renacci, former state Rep. Ron Hood and farmer Joe Blystone.

The 75-yea-old DeWine in the general election is expected to face former Dayton Democrat Mayor Nan Whaley.

Whaley has about 66% of the vote compared to 34% for her closest competitor, with about 34% of districts reporting, also according to The Times.