India's Modi sworn in for rare third term

Modi is the second prime minister to be elected for a third consecutive term in the history of India.

Published: June 9, 2024 10:45am

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in for a historic third consecutive term as prime minister on Sunday, as he relied on coalition partners to secure the position after his party failed to win a majority in elections.

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Modi and his Cabinet ministers in New Delhi, according to The Associated Press

Modi, 73, is the second Indian prime minister to retain power for three consecutive terms after Jawaharlal Nehru, the country's first prime minister.

This is the first time that Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party has failed to win a majority and been forced to rely on a coalition to form a government since the party won by landslides in 2014 and 2019.

Follow Madeleine Hubbard on X or Instagram.

The Facts Inside Our Reporter's Notebook

Unlock unlimited access

  • No Ads Within Stories
  • No Autoplay Videos
  • VIP access to exclusive Just the News newsmaker events hosted by John Solomon and his team.
  • Support the investigative reporting and honest news presentation you've come to enjoy from Just the News.
  • Just the News Spotlight

    Support Just the News