Republican senators introduce CRACK Act to block taxpayer-funded crack pipes

"It is pure insanity to think the federal government would fund crack pipe distribution," Rubio said.

Published: February 10, 2022 7:48pm

Updated: February 10, 2022 7:55pm

Fifteen Republican Senators joined Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) in introducing the CRACK Act, which seeks to prohibit government funding from being allocated to pipes and other narcotic smoking devices.

"It is pure insanity to think the federal government would fund crack pipe distribution," Rubio said in a press release. "This legislation will make certain the program can never pay for crack pipes, and given the Biden Administration’s position I look forward to their vigorous support."

The legislation comes after a Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) spokesperson reportedly told The Washington Free Beacon that federal grants would go toward "safe smoking kits/supplies," which include "pipes for users to smoke crack cocaine, crystal methamphetamine, and 'any illicit substance.'"

The act would amend the American Rescue Plan to prohibit taxpayer dollars from being "used to procure, supply, or distribute pipes, cylindrical objects, or other paraphernalia that can be used to smoke, inhale, or ingest narcotics."

Some drug activist groups are unhappy with the development.

"Pipe distribution is healthcare," Drug Policy Department of Research and Academic Engagement argued on Twitter

"Safer smoking equipment, like a pipe, reduces harm," the Drug Policy Alliance tweeted.

Sen. John Kennedy (R-La.), a cosponsor of the bill, said: “The Biden administration wants to spend millions of dollars helping drug users smoke crack and meth, but there is no safe way to smoke these dangerous drugs. Sooner or later, these drugs kill people."

"Why wouldn’t the president spend this money to help people get off crack and meth or to stop these drugs from crossing the border into our country in the first place?" Kennedy said.

Other cosponsors of the bill include Sens. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), John Kennedy (R-La.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), John Thune (R-S.D.), and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.).

Unlock unlimited access

  • No Ads Within Stories
  • No Autoplay Videos
  • VIP access to exclusive Just the News newsmaker events hosted by John Solomon and his team.
  • Support the investigative reporting and honest news presentation you've come to enjoy from Just the News.
  • Just the News Spotlight

    Support Just the News