Support Just the News

Help Fund Honest Journalism


European Union will remain closed to U.S. travelers when it reopens this week

The EU will lift travel restrictions on up to 15 countries, possibly including China

Updated: June 30, 2020 - 1:46pm

Americans will not be among those allowed to enter the European Union for nonessential travel as restrictions begin to lift on July 1. Starting this week, as many as 15 countries will be allowed back across EU borders.

The decision Tuesday, which was expected, comes amid a recent spike in infections across the South and Southwest in the U.S.

In mid-March the EU arranged a travel ban on nonessential travel from outside the bloc, and many member countries closed their internal borders as well. Intra-EU travel was largely reinstated earlier this month. 

When international restrictions lift on Wednesday, citizens of Canada, New Zealand, Australia, South Korea, Japan, Georgia, Uruguay, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Serbia, Montenegro, Rwanda, and Thailand will again be allowed to cross EU borders. China will also be on that list, if Beijing decided to permit EU citizens to cross into their country. 

The reopening of nonessential travel into the EU is meant to reinvigorate the depressed tourism industry. Tourism accounts for around 10% of the EU's economic output during a normal year.

EU member states will review the list of countries every two weeks to determine whether all countries should remain on the list and if any should be added.