Republicans who voted for Jan. 6 panel are mostly holding strong in their reelection battles

So far, just one House Republican who voted to establish the committee has lost a primary.

Updated: June 9, 2022 - 8:34am

Thus far during midterm season, just one House Republican who defied the wishes of former President Trump by voting to establish the special committee to investigate the Jan. 6 Capitol riot has lost a primary bid.

Within the House Republican caucus, 35 members voted in favor of the independent, so-called bipartisan panel that will begin presenting its findings to the public during primetime on Thursday evening. Of those 35, nine have opted to retire or otherwise not seek another term. (The committee was created by Democrats who control the chamber. Two Republican are on the committee – co-chair Wyoming Rep. Liz Cheney and Illinois Rep. Adam Kinzinger.)

Rep. David McKinely, of West Virginia has, so far, been the single casualty of the primary voting. He lost a May primary to fellow Rep. Alex Mooney, a MAGA Republican who was redrawn into a shared district. 

While primary challenges still wait a dozen of the incumbents who voted for the committee, 11 of 14 have won their primaries, and two races still do not have outcomes.

California GOP Rep. David Valadao appears to have finished second in his jungle primary and will advance to the November general election, and Republican Rep. Michael Guest, in Mississippi, will head into a runoff later this month against Michael Cassidy, who finished slightly ahead during Tuesday's election.

Still to be decided are some high-profile races including Cheney's. She will compete Aug. 6 against Trump-backed Harriet Hageman. She is the lone Republican competing for reelection who sits on the January 6 panel. She was ousted last year from her role in House leadership. Kinzinger is not seeking reelection.

In Michigan, Rep. Peter Meijer is fighting for his seat against Trump-backed John Gibbs, as is South Carolina Rep. Tom Rice, who is battling for survival in a seven-way primary that will be decided next Tuesday.

Just the News Spotlight